Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » MEMBERS LOUNGE » Help and advice




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Share On:

Author Message
 Post Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 8:23 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 18229
I want some advice on how to do this, I have looked online and cor mek head nor tail of what they talk about.
I have a 4 year old Sony Bravia HD with three HDMI ports and a USB, I believe I need some hardware to plug into my PC USB port ( my PC is over ten years old). This piece of hardware will then transmit by wi fi to me telly, stuff that I stream on me PC, is that how it works?

What is that piece of kit called and where do you get um from?

_________________
There is no substitute for hard work.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter
 Post Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 9:15 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:58 pm
Posts: 7229
Your best bet is to get a cable that connects the tv to your puter. It will probably look like this
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/38013684 ... 0&ff14=108

Otherwise you are streaming twice.?. Which would slow the whole process down. With a cable your computer would be streaming and your tv just transmitting through the cable.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

_________________
Wolverhampton Wanderers, playing as the "Los Angeles Wolves", won the Western Division and then went on to earn the League Title


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 9:16 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:58 pm
Posts: 7229
Or a USB to USB might work after reading your message again.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

_________________
Wolverhampton Wanderers, playing as the "Los Angeles Wolves", won the Western Division and then went on to earn the League Title


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 9:53 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
Buy a Laptop with an HDMI outlet you tight git. :wink:

I'm not sure about the Wireless bit though. I could hard-wire the router into my SONY TV and use it for something or other it even comes with a camera for SKYPE use, but I just plug my laptop into the TV via HDMI cable, switch over the input on the TV and view whatever is on my laptop screen. I can still control sound via the TV remote, but for everything else, I have to get the Wife to get up and do what is necessary on the laptop. :lol:

If it is wireless then it must be some kind of dongle from the computer to another one on the TV (I GUESS). Maybe these plug into the USB Ports - what does the Operators Manual for your TV say about connections/internet (if anything).

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 10:01 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 18229
My PC is too far away from me telly and I dont fancy running a wire under me carpet, or stumping up hard earned tax payers money for a lap top I doe really need or would use.

I need summat to plug in both the telly and PC that connects without a wire, I think? but what am they, how much am them, and where dya get um from.

I dont know where the manual is.

_________________
There is no substitute for hard work.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 10:14 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
Rozza wrote:
My PC is too far away from me telly and I dont fancy running a wire under me carpet, or stumping up hard earned tax payers money for a lap top I doe really need or would use.

I need summat to plug in both the telly and PC that connects without a wire, I think? but what am they, how much am them, and where dya get um from.

I dont know where the manual is.


Can you at least post the model number of the SONY Bravia TV?

How is your computer connected to the internet, wireless or cable?

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 10:16 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:58 pm
Posts: 7229
Well then your best bet is to download the shows onto a USB stick, and then plug it into your tv.. I don't think you would be able to stream and re stream quick enough.. And I don't think you would be able to direct the stream to the dongle either.

So download a couple of shows, plonk a USB into the puter, stick shows on USB.. Stick USB into TV.

Then try and figure out how to play the shows from the USB.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

_________________
Wolverhampton Wanderers, playing as the "Los Angeles Wolves", won the Western Division and then went on to earn the League Title


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue May 06, 2014 10:22 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:09 pm
Posts: 20664
Location: Four Oaks
I'm no good at this technical stuff either. Perhaps you need to accidentally knock the PC off the table and give your insurance company a call.

_________________
The next level awaits - Euros now


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 8:50 am 
Offline
First XI
First XI
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 1814
Get a blu ray player with dlna, stream to it via pc using your router. Serviio (google it) will stream movies to the blu ray player with no added hardware needed (its free software).

Sent from my LG-D802 using Tapatalk

_________________
WWFC R/C For Sale
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/221279601945? ... 1555.l2649


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 8:53 am 
Offline
First XI
First XI
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 10:54 am
Posts: 1814
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BwtBQJadBL8

Sent from my LG-D802 using Tapatalk

_________________
WWFC R/C For Sale
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/221279601945? ... 1555.l2649


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 9:34 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 3:59 pm
Posts: 20274
Location: Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
See Mcdogs about Chromecast - meant to be pretty good.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 7:17 pm 
Offline
Wolves Reserve
Wolves Reserve
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 3:13 pm
Posts: 1127
Location: Worcester
I thought there was a dongle type thing you shoved into a usb on the back of the tele, linked up with your pc, phone or tablet via bluetooth and away you go ....about £30 ayyit?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 7:38 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 3:59 pm
Posts: 20274
Location: Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
DazDC5 wrote:
I thought there was a dongle type thing you shoved into a usb on the back of the tele, linked up with your pc, phone or tablet via bluetooth and away you go ....about £30 ayyit?


I think that's Chromecast?

http://www.techradar.com/reviews/audio- ... 126/review


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 7:45 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:58 pm
Posts: 7229
But isn't it his puter that's old and not his telly?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

_________________
Wolverhampton Wanderers, playing as the "Los Angeles Wolves", won the Western Division and then went on to earn the League Title


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 8:41 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 18229
Cally wrote:
DazDC5 wrote:
I thought there was a dongle type thing you shoved into a usb on the back of the tele, linked up with your pc, phone or tablet via bluetooth and away you go ....about £30 ayyit?


I think that's Chromecast?

http://www.techradar.com/reviews/audio- ... 126/review


That sounds like what I need, McDogs am ya there? whats your views?

_________________
There is no substitute for hard work.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 9:52 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
Rozza wrote:
Cally wrote:
DazDC5 wrote:
I thought there was a dongle type thing you shoved into a usb on the back of the tele, linked up with your pc, phone or tablet via bluetooth and away you go ....about £30 ayyit?


I think that's Chromecast?

http://www.techradar.com/reviews/audio- ... 126/review


That sounds like what I need, McDogs am ya there? whats your views?


You still didn't answer a basic starter question which is, does your computer receive wireless internet from your router or, does it have an 'Ethernet' cable plugged between the two bits of kit?

If the former then it would mean that you already have the necessary apparatus installed to receive and send wireless internet. If only a cable connection then, you probably do not have the apparatus at the moment to send and receive wireless as in a dongle.

I am of the opinion that the Sony Bravia that you have can already receive wireless Internet, but I might be wrong on that.

LA Wolf is correct that for you, the cheapest and easiest option is to download to a USB device from your computer and then plug it into your TV and find out how you view it. Of course it won't be live streaming, but recorded.

Check out the prices of all these new apparatus and just how much software you need to become familiar with - you might find that investing some of that Tax Payer's money into a Laptop (they're getting cheaper every week) might be more cost effective in the longer term and free up that desk top to go into the shed for Nag research and other shed like activities. :wink:

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 10:11 pm 
Offline
A Right Bastard Admin
A Right Bastard Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 12:28 am
Posts: 7421
Location: Living in the shadows of my dreams
I have a Chromecast and really can't fault it for the money. It plugs into a HDMi port on your TV and takes power either from the mains or a USB port on the TV. Takes literally 30 seconds to set up, you download a small piece of software or an app to your computer, phone, tablet etc and it installs itself on you wifi network. You then downloads the Google Chrome browser and it places a little tv icon in the top right hand corner, click that and your TV duplicates everything that is going on your computer screen. I use it for streaming media off a few sites, it does full HD with no lag or buffering. £30 well spent and even got a £5 free of Play Store credit.

_________________
Science has made us gods even before we are worthy of being men


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 10:44 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
mcdogs wrote:
I have a Chromecast and really can't fault it for the money. It plugs into a HDMi port on your TV and takes power either from the mains or a USB port on the TV. Takes literally 30 seconds to set up, you download a small piece of software or an app to your computer, phone, tablet etc and it installs itself on you wifi network. You then downloads the Google Chrome browser and it places a little tv icon in the top right hand corner, click that and your TV duplicates everything that is going on your computer screen. I use it for streaming media off a few sites, it does full HD with no lag or buffering. £30 well spent and even got a £5 free of Play Store credit.


Sounds great, but we haven't yet established whether or not Roz has a WiFi Network or whether he is Ethernet cable connected to his 10 year old Puter. Not trying to teach the Old Dog new tricks either.

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu May 08, 2014 8:30 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 18229
I am Wi Fi mate because my neighbour uses mine as well so he tells me.

_________________
There is no substitute for hard work.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Thu May 08, 2014 9:22 am 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
Rozza wrote:
I am Wi Fi mate because my neighbour uses mine as well so he tells me.


If he is clever enough to have cracked your Internet access password (if you had one) then, he is clever enough to set-up that 'thingy' McDogs is talking about albeit, he will be able to watch what you're watching and might even offer viewing advice such, 'switch the effin channel over Roz'. :lol:

Any road up, have a look at this first: -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDgFAWap4_M

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri May 16, 2014 4:38 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 18229
I bought chromecast, 30 bastard English bastard pounds isn't it, I can stream from both our phones now but it says that my computer can fook off as I need Windows 7 or newer :evil:
I wouldn't have bought the fookin thing if I had known. I now need to speak to a man who may or may not have a, erm, a bone fide, pukka copy of Windows 7.

Fookin palava :evil: :roll:

_________________
There is no substitute for hard work.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri May 16, 2014 5:58 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
Rozza wrote:
I bought chromecast, 30 bastard English bastard pounds isn't it, I can stream from both our phones now but it says that my computer can fook off as I need Windows 7 or newer :evil:
I wouldn't have bought the fookin thing if I had known. I now need to speak to a man who may or may not have a, erm, a bone fide, pukka copy of Windows 7.

Fookin palava :evil: :roll:


:lol: :lol:

YO could lose your pension over those dirty windows - best get a pristine version. :wink: I fookin told you to buy a new Laptop, would be cheaper in the end and comes bundled with all sorts of shite.

BTW, did you forget your lunch box in a Steve Bull Executive Box. :wink:

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri May 16, 2014 8:02 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 18229
Moscow Wolf wrote:
Rozza wrote:
I bought chromecast, 30 bastard English bastard pounds isn't it, I can stream from both our phones now but it says that my computer can fook off as I need Windows 7 or newer :evil:
I wouldn't have bought the fookin thing if I had known. I now need to speak to a man who may or may not have a, erm, a bone fide, pukka copy of Windows 7.

Fookin palava :evil: :roll:


:lol: :lol:

YO could lose your pension over those dirty windows - best get a pristine version. :wink: I fookin told you to buy a new Laptop, would be cheaper in the end and comes bundled with all sorts of shite.

BTW, did you forget your lunch box in a Steve Bull Executive Box. :wink:


Ha ha Mossie you fookin font of all stuff an that.I will leave the ethics of dirty or steamy windows to Bill Gates and Tina Turner mate. Its my party and i'll stream if I want to. I wish some fuckin boffin off here who teks it all for granted, had just said "Doe buy it roz if yam computers wank chap",... I could handle and understand that.

£30 quid is ten fookin pints :evil:

_________________
There is no substitute for hard work.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri May 16, 2014 9:17 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
I have to be a 'font' coz I aye got no fooker to help me unlike you who has daughter(s) with UNI education. You was advising someone recently NEVER to attempt DIY oneself and get someone in to do it and save the hassle - should have taken your own advice. :lol:

I recently bought some action camera and when I finally got around to unpacking it, charging it up, it tells me it won't work without a Mini SD Card. Of course, it don't come supplied so next time I'm back in the city where I bought it, I buy the fookin SD card. The bloke in there, says 'no, it wo work without one'. I say why the fook didn't you tell me that when I fookin bought it. He says, 'I thought you knew'. How the fook would I know, it's like buying a car and finding it ay got a battery and having to travel 40 miles from country abode to the city just to buy one.

Any road up, before you go throwing good money after bad, read this: -

In order to send or cast streamed media from your PC to your TV, via your Chromecast dongle, you must have the most recent version of the Google Chrome browser, one or more applications that support Chromecast, such as BBC iPlayer (latest version), Netflix and so on. If you want to cast media stored on your PC, (music, video, photos etc.) you need two Chrome browser add-ons called Chrome Cast and Videocast. They can be downloaded in Chrome by going to Controls > Tools > Extensions. Providing your setup meets all of these criteria, and the PC is connecting normally to the Internet then it should work. Try running the initial setup again, but first, perform a Full Data Reset (FDR), which puts Chromecast back to factory condition. To do that hold down the button on the dongle for at least 25 seconds (while it is plugged in) until the light starts flashing. It may also help to clear the router’s cache memory before you begin, so switch it off, and anything that connects to it. Switch the router back on and wait for the lights to stop blinking before powering up the PC, then plug in the Chromecast. If the problem persists there may be a configuration issue with the router and Virtual Private Network (VPN) services can also stop it working and if all else fails there is a simple to follow troubleshooter on the Chromecast FAQ here

More info contained in the link here: -

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technology/advice/10819888/Why-is-my-Chromecast-not-working.html

According to this, it will work with Windows as far back as XP, might not be great, but should work so I don't know what windows version you've got:-

https://support.google.com/chromecast/answer/3209990?hl=en

Personally, I'd pack the fookin lot up in the motor and take it across to someone like McDogs and get them to set it up for you. :wink:

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri May 23, 2014 11:07 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 18229
DO NOT buy Chromecast if you have a Sony TV.I am now £50 out of pocket and still unable to stream from PC to telly unless I now spend a further 71 quid getting a Sony Dongle that allows Wi-Fi access.

I REALLY want to kick someone in the bollocks on this debacle.

_________________
There is no substitute for hard work.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri May 23, 2014 11:32 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 3:58 pm
Posts: 7229
Can you plug your tv directly into the internet? Or is the internet nearer your computer?

I have a Samsung dongle that I don't use if that helps..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

_________________
Wolverhampton Wanderers, playing as the "Los Angeles Wolves", won the Western Division and then went on to earn the League Title


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat May 24, 2014 1:18 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
Rozza wrote:
DO NOT buy Chromecast if you have a Sony TV.I am now £50 out of pocket and still unable to stream from PC to telly unless I now spend a further 71 quid getting a Sony Dongle that allows Wi-Fi access.

I REALLY want to kick someone in the bollocks on this debacle.


Hang a mo before throwing your ducks out of the bath - YOU said earlier in this thread that you could NOW stream from TWO Mobile/Smart phone devices to your Sony Bravia with Chromecast (if I am correct) so how did you do that, WiFi, Bluetooth or what? So, logic would suggest that if you can stream from a mobile device that you should also be able to stream from your PC using Wifi.

Who says you need a Sony Dongle (smart stick - no doubt?).

Sony - Bravia Link or Bravia Sync Have you managed to find these functions on your TV yet?

Actually, you could help us to help you if only you'd go look at the back of the tv and tell us what fookin model number it is. I've spent a wee while (cos I can) researching Chromecast and Sony BRAVIA TVs and not one problem about it NOT working have I come across so I don't know why you would need TWO different types of dongle to make a match. Again, I work on logic and two different systems would most probably be more difficult to configure than one - again, I ain't at the coal face as you are so can only half guess the problems.

I did say that you was The Wolf's Most Funniest and Fook all Use at anything else. :wink:

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat May 24, 2014 2:56 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 18229
Bob, Out of a hundred persons asked, fifty fuckers tell you one thing online and fifty fuckers tell you the exact opposite, the other ten know fuck all.
Anyroad up, I think I get it now.I can stream from my phone and Mrs R's phone because it uses my Wi Fi. I cant stream from my PC because it is connected by cable to my router and NOT Wi FI.If I had a lap top (Which would be connected by Wi Fi) it would act the same as my phone does.

_________________
There is no substitute for hard work.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat May 24, 2014 4:35 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
Rozza wrote:
Bob, Out of a hundred persons asked, fifty fuckers tell you one thing online and fifty fuckers tell you the exact opposite, the other ten know fuck all.
Anyroad up, I think I get it now.I can stream from my phone and Mrs R's phone because it uses my Wi Fi. I cant stream from my PC because it is connected by cable to my router and NOT Wi FI.If I had a lap top (Which would be connected by Wi Fi) it would act the same as my phone does.


I ain't no McDogs or even a Tripp, but lets try to break this down into segments because I am of the opinion, it is solvable and you won't need to spend any more money albeit, you might have to scratch your head, kick the cat or dog and abuse the Wife. :lol:

a). If your PC Desktop computer is connected by cable then, it is NOT WiFi as it stands, your ROUTER is receiving your Internet connection and transferring everything via cable and back to your PC. A router can't do anything more than route signals backwards and forwards to the control centre which is your computer which it currently does by cable - to make your PC work like a Laptop or other mobile device (Tablet, Smartphone Etc) it requires a plug in device termed a Dongle to translate Internet Wireless signals to and from the router to PC.

b) Your mobile telephones can connect to the Internet via various means including THEIR usual telephone signal, (whether it be 3G or a bag of spaghetti makes no difference) a WiFi hotspot in a cafe, restaurant, petrol station or wherever and or YOUR own WiFi network which it appears to me, you ain't got.

c) you need a dongle (which might well be one end of this Chromecast) inserted in your PC INSTEAD of the current cable you have - establish a wireless connection between your router and your puter via this means and you're starting to win.

d) next when you have a true WiFi connection between your router and your PC via this dongle then, logic suggests that the other part of the dongle will plug into the back of your Sony Bravia TV and you can sync the PC and TV together to stream what you want.

You either go all cable via those USB/HDMI cables OR you go all Wifi using converters/dongles to interpret the signals and change them into languages you and I are too old to understand, but don't need to understand.

I might be one of the 10 talking complete bollox and then again, I might not - read the following for further logical explanation: -

Are you saying my desktop needs to be on the wireless network?

Yes, your Chromecast and your source device need to be on the same network, and since Chromecast can't "plug in" to a hardwired ethernet (that I know of), that means your source device has to be wifi, too. I have two Chromecasts, in two different buildings, on two different SSDIs, and I found myself forgetting to switch internet connections on my S3 when I'd go from one to the other. So I'd be standing there pounding on my phone wondering why the heck I couldn't get Netflix going out in my studio, until I realized that my S3 was still hitting off of the wifi in the house. So yes, if you are trying to "broadcast" to your TV/Chromecast from your desktop computer, the computer does need to be on wifi, and it has to be the same wifi connection as your Chromecast.

I will add: I am SERIOUSLY loving this device!


So, ignoring all the S3 shite, you need to get yourself WiFi from your Router to your PC Desktop first. I am feeling confident enough to say that if this doesn't EVENTUALLY work then, I'll smoke my bollocks albeit they're shaven anyway. :wink:

Get a spotty frog Yute in from your Computer Records, Data Protection Department unless your CC got rid of them along with the Hosses. :wink:

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat May 24, 2014 4:51 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
Just had a sip of wine and a smoke whilst trying to watch County v QPR and came up with the following:-

I don't know if this Chromecast dongle will work between router and Desktop PC as a usual Dongle would; by this I mean will it carry/convert all your usual traffic or is it only designed for streaming - I don't know the answer to this one?

Next, you will (or someone who knows how to do it) might well have to configure your Router, download some free programmes to get it all working, but it seems clear to me now that you MUST establish a true WiFi Network between Router and Desktop/PC before this Chromecast has any chance of working to your Sony TV. My balls suddenly got hotter. :lol:

Fook, Zamora scored whilst typing this tripe.

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » MEMBERS LOUNGE » Help and advice


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

The Wolf will always be free to its members, but if you feel you would like to contribute towards the running costs, than please feel free to donate.

 

 

Disclaimer : This forum is for the general discussion/topic of Wolverhampton Wanderers. What is said within the forum is personal opinions, and The Wolf will not be held responsible. Your ip is logged for security reasons. The forum is viewable by the public and any topics you disclose/discuss can be viewed by the public. Some topics on this forum may only be suitable for those aged 18+.