Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » MEMBERS LOUNGE » Help and advice




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

Share On:

Author Message
 Post subject: Best Broadband Supplier?
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 3:39 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:29 pm
Posts: 4596
Having issues with my supplier at present,poor speeds,drop out etc etc sick of talking to engineers and them saying my problem is sorted and for it to appear again.
What suppliers do people have out there and how reliable are they and how is the after care if there is a problem?Cheers for your help.

_________________
"Roy is the best England manager in history tactically" KK 28/6/16


Top 
 Profile  
 
Share on Facebook Facebook Share on Twitter Twitter
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 4:39 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:09 pm
Posts: 20692
Location: Four Oaks
I have had BT Infinity 2 for a couple of years. Not cheap and probably not as fast as they pretend but the only problem I had was when we had a new microwave and I had to change channel. Never any other issues and it seems very reliable (unlike Orange which I had previously)

_________________
The next level awaits - Champions League or, err, Championship


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 9:05 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 1:59 pm
Posts: 19016
Location: WV4 and WL4
Ken, who are you with? If it's Virgin, then that's disappointing, because I don't have many problems with them. Recently I called them, and spoke to a nice Indian chap who asked me to turn my box off and on, and hey presto, problem solved :oops:

A while back, we had a weak signal problem, which is down to how our cable goes round the house, to get in the back room, but they turned up quickly, to add a booster.

Overall, a reliable service.

_________________
Thank you very much for Stevie Bull. Thank you very much, thank you very, very, very much.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2014 10:43 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:29 pm
Posts: 4596
Aol/talktalk i've got.

No cable here embers so as the saying goes no virgin in Perton :lol:

_________________
"Roy is the best England manager in history tactically" KK 28/6/16


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2014 8:17 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 1:59 pm
Posts: 19016
Location: WV4 and WL4
kenbarlowsslippers wrote:
Aol/talktalk i've got.

No cable here embers so as the saying goes no virgin in Perton :lol:


Perton, the land that time forgot. Time to move Kenneth.

_________________
Thank you very much for Stevie Bull. Thank you very much, thank you very, very, very much.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2014 8:39 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:29 pm
Posts: 4596
Anyway since the engineer came friday(spoke little english and spent 20 minutes on the phone to an engineer in india!!!yes really)it has got bleedin worse.So i phoned customer support today and he asked what socket my router was plugged in to.I asked what sort of question that was and he said go and get a screwdriver and take the front off the socket off.I then blew my top!!!!WTF is all that about?
He eventually said he changed a dns setting his end and the problem i have had for 6 months will be history :lol: We will see and why didn't they do this in the first place. :oops:

_________________
"Roy is the best England manager in history tactically" KK 28/6/16


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:55 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:09 pm
Posts: 20692
Location: Four Oaks
The DNS setting probably doesn't appear until about page 6 of their book of instructions. Every time you call they have to start at the beginning of page 1 and work their way through.

I lived in Perton for a while, a long time ago, glad it's still there.

_________________
The next level awaits - Champions League or, err, Championship


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 9:48 am 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
Left back wrote:
I have had BT Infinity 2 for a couple of years. Not cheap and probably not as fast as they pretend but the only problem I had was when we had a new microwave and I had to change channel. Never any other issues and it seems very reliable (unlike Orange which I had previously)


Could you break that down into Layman's language please as I am conjuring up a picture that you have a combined Microwave oven and TV. :shock:

I don't understand why you lot don't use a Speedtest site as they're free and quite reliable. However, you really need to close everything, SKYPE type programmes, anything that is running in the background and even disable you're security anti-virus, firewalls and whatnot for 10 minutes whilst you run the test. Don't forget to disable any other devices that are using your WiFi such as mobile devices before running the test.

Choose a nearby and an international server to get an idea of your Ping speed, Download and Upload speeds - run it 3 times minimum i.e. morning, midday, evening (peak time) to get an overall average and then, if it don't come anywhere near what you're supposed to be getting then, you have something to complain about.

If/when I experience slow speeds, whirring on You Tube etc. I find that an unplug of the router for 1 minute or a computer reset of the router can help and sometimes combined with a computer reboot. If that don't improve anything then, I run a Speedtest and if the results are miserable then I am on the blower to the IP who usually tell me that they're carrying out maintenance works and it'll be back up to speed by X time. Just keeps them on their toes as I have to pay a lot of dosh to get my Internet connection out in the sticks.

Of course, don't forget that you'll always get faster results if you're Puter is hard wired than you will on WiFi and also, the power of your router and it's positioning in your house can make a difference too. I had to upgrade mine to some double antenna one so as to improve the signal down to the caravan so that the Woker/Helper can use SKYPE to talk to his Brother in Spain.

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 10:55 am 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:09 pm
Posts: 20692
Location: Four Oaks
Moscow Wolf wrote:
Left back wrote:
I have had BT Infinity 2 for a couple of years. Not cheap and probably not as fast as they pretend but the only problem I had was when we had a new microwave and I had to change channel. Never any other issues and it seems very reliable (unlike Orange which I had previously)


Could you break that down into Layman's language please as I am conjuring up a picture that you have a combined Microwave oven and TV. :shock:


You know more than me though. When we had a new microwave, every time we used it it seemed to interfere with the Broadband connection. There are several channels available on the router to receive broadband so I was advised to move to another one and it did the trick.

I haven't tried surfing the microwave yet.

_________________
The next level awaits - Champions League or, err, Championship


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2014 12:15 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
Left back wrote:
Moscow Wolf wrote:
Left back wrote:
I have had BT Infinity 2 for a couple of years. Not cheap and probably not as fast as they pretend but the only problem I had was when we had a new microwave and I had to change channel. Never any other issues and it seems very reliable (unlike Orange which I had previously)


Could you break that down into Layman's language please as I am conjuring up a picture that you have a combined Microwave oven and TV. :shock:


You know more than me though. When we had a new microwave, every time we used it it seemed to interfere with the Broadband connection. There are several channels available on the router to receive broadband so I was advised to move to another one and it did the trick.

I haven't tried surfing the microwave yet.


You'll get such programmes as 'Only Bits of Pies and Horses' on the Gold Channel Mate. If you're lucky, you might get repeats of the Lasagne, Curry and Chinese Takeaway channels although, you might need subtitles and a dose of Imodium for the best reception. :roll:

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:36 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:29 pm
Posts: 4596
Left back wrote:
The DNS setting probably doesn't appear until about page 6 of their book of instructions. Every time you call they have to start at the beginning of page 1 and work their way through.

I lived in Perton for a while, a long time ago, glad it's still there.


At present the "fix" whatever it was is working :shock:
I bet you lived on the outer of the parkway not the inner Lb :lol:

_________________
"Roy is the best England manager in history tactically" KK 28/6/16


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:24 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:09 pm
Posts: 20692
Location: Four Oaks
kenbarlowsslippers wrote:
Left back wrote:
The DNS setting probably doesn't appear until about page 6 of their book of instructions. Every time you call they have to start at the beginning of page 1 and work their way through.

I lived in Perton for a while, a long time ago, glad it's still there.


At present the "fix" whatever it was is working :shock:
I bet you lived on the outer of the parkway not the inner Lb :lol:


:lol: Franklyn Close off Shackleton Drive - didn't that put me in the middle somewhere?

_________________
The next level awaits - Champions League or, err, Championship


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 8:27 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 12:29 pm
Posts: 4596
Left back wrote:
kenbarlowsslippers wrote:
Left back wrote:
The DNS setting probably doesn't appear until about page 6 of their book of instructions. Every time you call they have to start at the beginning of page 1 and work their way through.

I lived in Perton for a while, a long time ago, glad it's still there.


At present the "fix" whatever it was is working :shock:
I bet you lived on the outer of the parkway not the inner Lb :lol:


:lol: Franklyn Close off Shackleton Drive - didn't that put me in the middle somewhere?


Park the car there on occasions i'm lazy and pick the kids up from school instead of walking.

_________________
"Roy is the best England manager in history tactically" KK 28/6/16


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:15 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:09 pm
Posts: 20692
Location: Four Oaks
kenbarlowsslippers wrote:
Park the car there on occasions i'm lazy and pick the kids up from school instead of walking.

Not even sure if the school was there when I was (can't remember it) but the place definitely wasn't still an airfield.

_________________
The next level awaits - Champions League or, err, Championship


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:54 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 1:59 pm
Posts: 19016
Location: WV4 and WL4
Left back wrote:
kenbarlowsslippers wrote:
Park the car there on occasions i'm lazy and pick the kids up from school instead of walking.

Not even sure if the school was there when I was (can't remember it) but the place definitely wasn't still an airfield.


Leftie, when you woz there, it was still called Pertonium.

_________________
Thank you very much for Stevie Bull. Thank you very much, thank you very, very, very much.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 12:01 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager

Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:38 am
Posts: 15932
Location: Moved
Embers wrote:
Left back wrote:
kenbarlowsslippers wrote:
Park the car there on occasions i'm lazy and pick the kids up from school instead of walking.

Not even sure if the school was there when I was (can't remember it) but the place definitely wasn't still an airfield.


Leftie, when you woz there, it was still called Pertonium.



That's the stuff Moscow puts in the end of his umbrellas

_________________
Dyslexics are teople poo


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 12:28 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 1:59 pm
Posts: 19016
Location: WV4 and WL4
suiging wrote:
Embers wrote:
Leftie, when you woz there, it was still called Pertonium.



That's the stuff Moscow puts in the end of his umbrellas


Moscow is currently putting it, in all of his mouse traps :lol:

_________________
Thank you very much for Stevie Bull. Thank you very much, thank you very, very, very much.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 1:20 pm 
Offline
Manager
Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 1:26 am
Posts: 23348
Location: South East Bulgaria
Embers wrote:
suiging wrote:
Embers wrote:
Leftie, when you woz there, it was still called Pertonium.



That's the stuff Moscow puts in the end of his umbrellas


Moscow is currently putting it, in all of his mouse traps :lol:


We placed THREE traps yesterday and our latest contraption, the walk the plank bucket trap for drowning them. This morning's report - all 3 traps cleared of bait without going off; bait in the bucket of water, but no fookin Mouse. Time for some fine tuning and greasing of the trap triggers - just too knackered to lift a finger at the moment. :(

_________________
Better to keep your mouth shut and appear stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Mark Twain


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCl3PabIYDTl_WqVc4Aitv_g

https://twitter.com/wolf_moscow


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2014 1:55 pm 
Offline
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2006 6:09 pm
Posts: 20692
Location: Four Oaks
You will love those meeses in pieces Mosow.

_________________
The next level awaits - Champions League or, err, Championship


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

Board index » MEMBERS LOUNGE » Help and advice


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

The Wolf will always be free to its members, but if you feel you would like to contribute towards the running costs, than please feel free to donate.

 

 

Disclaimer : This forum is for the general discussion/topic of Wolverhampton Wanderers. What is said within the forum is personal opinions, and The Wolf will not be held responsible. Your ip is logged for security reasons. The forum is viewable by the public and any topics you disclose/discuss can be viewed by the public. Some topics on this forum may only be suitable for those aged 18+.